John Brabourne Awards 2014 announced

The Cinema and Television Benevolent Fund (CTBF), the leading charity for people working behind the scenes in the UK film, cinema and commercial television industries, is delighted to announce the recipients of the annual John Brabourne Awards (JBAs). These awards are dedicated to providing invaluable financial assistance to individuals who have faced difficulties in progressing their career. Nine awards were made this year, with an experienced industry committee finalising the list of recipients. The full list of 2014 awardees is as follows:

  • Adam Biskupski
  • Lucy Brydon
  • Lorna Hartnett
  • Charlotte Hudson
  • Mahdi Fleifel
  • Hero Mackenzie
  • Amanda Richardson
  • Rosie Taylor
  • Gavin Scott Whitfield

See more about the John Brabourne Awards:

A record 184 entrants applied for consideration, a 50% uplift on 2013, with the successful candidates receiving a grant ranging between £1000 and £5000, towards the development of their careers in the film and TV industries.

Richard Wilson, Chief Executive of The CTBF commented: "We are delighted with the record number of submissions and level of interest shown in this year's JBAs, and believe it reflects the unique position, and value, the award holds within the film and television industries. We have chosen a diverse and very deserving group of recipients and trust that this award will act as a creative catalyst for each awardee, helping them achieve their ambitions within their respective fields, and continue to share in the success previous awardees have experienced through the JBA programme."

Among the awardees this year are:

  • Charlotte Hudson, an exciting comedy writer with a number of film and TV projects in development, and one half of the double act, Two Left Hands
  • Adam Biskupski, an award-wining shorts editor whose debut feature The Goob recently premiered at Venice Film Festival and will screen in competition at the upcoming London Film Festival
  • Hero Mackenzie, a highly promising MA filmmaking student at the London Film School.

Targeted at talented individuals within the film and television industries, the JBAs aim to provide a financial stepping stone for those who have faced difficulties within their personal or professional lives – from financial hardship, accident and illness to bereavement. Previous awardees have gone on to create award-winning film and television, including

  • Krishnendu Majumdar, Series Director, An Idiot Abroad, who received a JBA in 2008
  • William Jessop, director of BBC 3's Growing Up Downs,who received an award in 2011
  • Sandhya Suri, director of I For India, who received an award in 2013.

Coming Up

Rory Peck Awards 2020

Rory Peck Awards 2020
24 Nov 20 @ Online

Media Production and Technology Show 2021

Media Production and Technology Show 2021
12–13/05/2021 @ London Olympia

View all

Search for Camera Crew