American Society of Cinematographers announces this year's winners

Roger Deakins, ASC, BSC claimed the coveted Theatrical Award for best cinematography in a motion picture for his work on Blade Runner 2049 at the 32nd Annual American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) Awards for Outstanding Achievement held at the Ray Dolby Ballroom at Hollywood and Highland on 17 February. Mart Taniel, ESC was given the Spotlight Award for November while in the TV categories, winners included Adriano Goldman, ASC, ABC for The Crown, Boris Mojsovski, CSC for 12 Monkeys and Mathias Herndl, AAC for Genius
The complete list of winners and nominees is as follows:

Theatrical Release Category (presented by Emmanuel Lubezki, ASC, AMC and Matthew Libatique, ASC)

  • Roger Deakins, ASC, BSC for Blade Runner 2049 – WINNER
  • Bruno Delbonnel, ASC, AFC for Darkest Hour
  • Hoyte van Hoytema, ASC, FSF, NSC for Dunkirk
  • Dan Laustsen, ASC, DFF for The Shape of Water
  • Rachel Morrison, ASC for Mudbound

Spotlight Award Category (presented by John Bailey, ASC)

  • Máté Herbai, HSC for On Body and Soul
  • Mikhail Krichman, RGC for Loveless
  • Mart Taniel, ESC for November – WINNER

Episode of a Series for Non-Commercial Television (presented by Teri Polo)

  • Gonzalo Amat for The Man in the High Castle (Land O’ Smiles) on Amazon
  • Adriano Goldman, ASC, ABC for The Crown (Smoke and Mirrors) on Netflix – WINNER
  • Robert McLachlan, ASC, CSC for Game of Thrones (The Spoils of War) on HBO
  • Gregory Middleton, ASC, CSC for Game of Thrones (Dragonstone) on HBO
  • Alasdair Walker for Outlander (The Battle Joined) on Starz

Episode of a Series for Commercial Television (presented by Sean Astin)

  • Dana Gonzales, ASC for Legion (Chapter 1) on FX
  • David Greene, ASC, CSC for 12 Monkeys (Mother) on Syfy
  • Kurt Jones for The Originals (Bag of Cobras) on The CW
  • Boris Mojsovski, CSC for 12 Monkeys (Thief) on Syfy – WINNER
  • Crescenzo Notarile, ASC for Gotham (Mad City: The Executioner) on Fox

Motion Picture, Miniseries, or Pilot Made for Television (presented by Kerri Kenney-Silver)

  • Pepe Avila del Pino for The Deuce pilot on HBO
  • Serge Desrosiers, CSC for Sometimes the Good Kill on Lifetime
  • Mathias Herndl, AAC for Genius (Einstein: Chapter 1) on National Geographic - WINNER
  • Shelly Johnson, ASC for Training Day pilot (Apocalypse Now) on CBS
  • Christopher Probst, ASC for Mindhunter pilot on Netflix
This is Deakins’ fourth win and his 15th ASC nomination. He previously won for Skyfall (2013), The Man Who Wasn’t There (2002), and The Shawshank Redemption (1995). His other nominations include Unbroken (2015), Prisoners (2014), True Grit (2011), The Reader (2009), Revolutionary Road (2009), The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford (2008), No Country for Old Men (2008), O Brother, Where Art Thou? (2001), Kundun (1998) and Fargo (1997).
Honorary awards also presented during the evening included:
  • The ASC Board of Governors Award, presented to Angelina Jolie by Dean Semler, ASC, ACS (Maleficent, In the Land of Blood and Honey, The Bone Collector) for her significant and indelible contributions to cinema. It is the only ASC Award not given to a cinematographer and is reserved for filmmakers who have been champions for directors of photography and the visual art form.
  • The ASC Lifetime Achievement Award, given to Russell Carpenter, ASC (Oscar winner for Titanic) and presented by Dante Spinotti, ASC, AIC (Oscar nominee for The Insider and LA Confidential.)
  • The ASC Career Achievement in Television Award, presented to Alan Caso, ASC (Emmy nominee for Into the West, Six Feet Under, George Wallace) by actor-producer Daniel Dae Kim.
  • The ASC International Award, given to Russell Boyd, ASC, ACS (Oscar winner Master and Commander: The Far Side of the World) by Mandy Walker, ASC, ACS (Hidden Figures, Australia).
  • The ASC Presidents Award, awarded to Stephen Lighthill, ASC (Berkeley in the ‘60s, Gimme Shelter, CBS’ 60 Minutes) by American Film Institute (AFI) President and CEO, Bob Gazzale. This award is given not only for the recipient’s body of work but for dedication to the organisation and its mission of advancing the art of cinematography through education. Lighthill is currently Senior Filmmaker in Residence: Cinematography at the AFI Conservatory.
  • The ASC Bud Stone Award of Distinction, given to Frieder Hochheim, president and founder of Kino Flo Lighting Systems. This award is presented to an ASC Associate Member who has demonstrated extraordinary service to the society and/or has made a significant contribution to the motion picture industry. 
For more information regarding the ASC Awards, visit the ASC website.

Coming Up

KitPlus Show, London

KitPlus Show, London
26 Feb 20 @ The Truman Brewery above U-Block, 91 Brick Lane, London E1 6QL

GTC First Aid Course – Birmingham

GTC First Aid Course – Birmingham
28 Feb 20 @ Room C502, Birmingham City University, The Curzon Building, 4 Cardigan Street, Birmingham B4 7BD

GTC First Aid Course – Manchester

GTC First Aid Course – Manchester
12 Mar 20 @ Provision Manchester, Space Studios, Vaughan St, Manchester M12 5FQ

Media Production and Television Show 2020

Media Production and Television Show 2020
13–14/05/2020 @ Olympia,

View all

Search for Camera Crew